Posted in Lifestyle

Happy International Women’s Day!

Just some thoughts on International Women’s Day, better late then never!

One thing I love about Russia: International Women’s Day is a non-labor holiday and has been since 1965. This means that most banks, schools and official buildings are closed. I am ashamed to say that I have not taken much of an interest in this holiday until now, I’m not sure why. I want to say it’s because it wasn’t as widely recognized in the U.S. as it is in Russia but I’m not sure if that’s true. Maybe I just didn’t pay enough attention. However, I’m trying to make up for that now by getting informed and involved.

I pledged to #BeBoldForChange and I hope you will too! This step is not only meant for women, guys should get involved as well! To me this means using this and other platforms to recognize women and the difference they have made in the world. If nothing else, follow the link above and go to the IWD website. It is full of information about women who have changed the world and what this day celebrates. Here are just a few examples of some of the larger than life women I admire and:

I love this video:  #likeagirl. To me it is so sad that growing up I heard ‘you run like a girl’ used as an insult. I may have even used it myself at some point. This video is such a perfect example of how our ideas and perceptions of girls should change. Being fast or excelling at something should should not be a condition of your gender.

Women who work hard and achieve their dreams are to be looked up to and admired, not belittled.

How are you celebrating International Women’s Day?

Author:

Welcome to my blog! I moved to Moscow in November to join my fiance, and this blog is dedicated to my experience living as an expat. Thanks for joining me on this exciting ride!

Leave a Reply

